IGI Certified Diamonds: Deal with the Real Ones

What are IGI certified diamonds? Or you may ask, "What are certified diamonds?" Don't ever think that we're talking about a whole new kind of stone.

We are only, however, classifying the hardest mineral in the world.

Importance of Certification

Diamonds are considered to be one of the most expensive gemstones since time immemorial. Their value rests on their brilliance, elegance, versatility, and even price.

That's why if you're thinking of buying a diamond, you should not simply settle for anything less.

One way of knowing the worth of your diamond is through its certificate or grading report. It is a document that informs you of the unique characteristics of your diamond. The results shall then be the bases of the appraised value or the price of the stone.

Certification Laboratories

There are a lot of laboratories all over the world. However, not all of them are classified to assess diamonds. So far, here are well-known professional gemological institutes responsible for providing accurate, fair, and fast grading report:

  • IGI. IGI stands for International Gemological Institute. Started in the 1950s, it is now operating in New York and Antwerp. IGI certified diamonds are judged on three important factors. These are carat weight, clarity, color, and cut.

    Specific tools are being used to measure these characteristics.

    If a diamond receives an ideal designation for its cut, it means that it is one of the most valuable stones that can be sold. It only shows the craftsmanship of the master cutter.
  • GIA. GIA means Gemological Institute of America. It is the oldest gemological institute, having been established since the early 1930s. They were also the first one to introduce a standard or uniform grading system. Because of the way they assess diamonds and other gemstones, a lot of buyers and sellers value their certification.

    GIA certified diamonds are the ones that pass through a series of examinations. For every diamond, a team composed of two or five will evaluate the stone one by one. Thus, the report is more comprehensive.

    The report is also easy to interpret because of a scaling system that is being used.
  • AGS. AGS stands for American Gemological Society. It is established in 1943, several years after GIA. However, when it comes to knowing the cut grade of the diamond, a certification from this laboratory becomes more important.

    AGS certified diamonds are like IGI certified diamonds. They are valued using the same four factors. The stone, moreover, is evaluated not just by one gemologist but by at least 2 or more. Because of its strict approach to grading, a diamond that receives an ideal grade on cut in AGS means it's the rarest and is a perfect diamond.

    Compared to other gemological institutes, AGS is more focused on consumer protection.
  • EGL. This is the European Gemological Laboratory, which was established more than 3 decades ago. EGL certified diamonds are scrutinized more comprehensively than in GIA, AGS, and IGI. Besides the 4Cs, the girdle thickness and culet are also being considered.

    In fact, every facet is studied.

Settle for These Laboratories

You may talk with sellers who will give you a report that is not issued by any of these laboratories, say, for your certified diamond stud earring. There's nothing wrong with that, really, but you must never trust it right away. Ask for credentials of the laboratory and make your own research.