Diamond Clarity Chart: Understand the Value of Your Stone More

A diamond clarity chart is useful for both consumers and sellers. After all, clarity is considered to be one of the most important criteria in judging the value of a diamond.

Defining Diamond Clarity

Clarity refers to the external and internal clearness of a diamond. A diamond is said to be crystal-clear if it possesses very minimal to zero blemish (external flaw) and inclusion (internal flaw).

Diamond Clarity Guide: Types of Inclusions and Blemishes

The diamond clarity grade can be greatly affected by the flaws the stone contains. As mentioned, it can either be a blemish or an inclusion.

When it comes to blemish, pit is known to be the most serious. This is because it's very prominent. It is characterized by holes that are found directly into the facets of the diamonds.

Depending on the size, though, pit can be eliminated through proper polishing.

Polishing can also remove scratches, which may be caused by contact with other objects, including other diamonds or gemstones with pointed sides. It can also remove chipping, which is a small crack into the gemstone. However, this method will no longer work if the blemish is already large enough.

You also have diamond inclusions, which are already inherent into the stones. First, you have minerals and crystals. It takes millions of years for earth to produce diamonds, and along the way, crystals and other minerals will be embedded into the diamonds.

Sometimes lasers are used to remove the obvious inclusions in the diamond. The problem is that some of them do leave trails into the stones, which make them inclusions.

The most serious flaw in a diamond is known as cleavage. It is a straight crack found in the diamond. If it's very huge, it has the tendency to split your diamond into two or even tiny pieces, depending on its impact on another object.

But do you know that there's also called a natural flaw? In fact, it's considered to increase the value of your diamond. It tells a lot about the skills of the master cutter. It means that he has able to preserve the naturalness of the diamond.

Diamond Clarity Ratings

Also known as a diamond clarity scale, it's usually the basis of the diamond clarity chart. Now, since there are a lot of independent laboratories for gemstones all over the world, there are also a lot of diamond clarity grade manuals that you can use.

However, for the sake of uniformity, you can follow the one from GIA, or the Gemological Institute of America. It's also the one that is being utilized by thousands of sellers and consumers and is recognized to be the best grading system for clarity.

The classifications are very simple. That's why it's very easy to interpret the results of the evaluation. A diamond can fall into six categories. These are the following:

  • completely flawless (FL)
  • internally flawless (IF)
  • VVS1-VVS2
  • VS1-VS2
  • SI1-SI2
  • I1-I3

A diamond will either fall between the second until the last categories. It's very rare for you to find a completely flawless diamond, and when you do, you have one of the most valuable and perhaps the most expensive of such gemstone in the world.

Diamonds that fall into the last classification, on the other hand, are the ones you should avoid. This means that the flaws are so obvious, and they may be the ones that cannot be fixed by the master cutter. These stones are sold very cheaply and may worth nothing.

Clarity Enhanced Diamonds

There are diamonds that are clarity enhanced. This means that certain procedures have been implemented to ensure that they appear to be as clear as possible. This is in the hope that the value of the diamond will be increased.